Investigative Journalism Competition 2014

In 2014, Media4Change invited journalists to bring issues of corruption and human rights to light that often still lack attention in the society and the media.


Participants, interested in producing quality journalism, conducted investigations focusing on corruption and human rights starting in September and finalising in January. The evaluation of these works and the process of the contest was carried out by the commission. The commission was made of 10 area experts, including professional journalists, media, corruption, and human rights experts. Participants attended various workshops and prepared their investigations plans, consulting with specialists, and commission members (mentors).

At the last stage of the competition, 10 finalists were chosen, whose topics and problems addressed were chosen as the most relevant and valuable. There were many written pieces to be evaluated in the hands of commission members, that showed the potential and talent of candidates as future investigative journalists. It was decided to award 4 authors with scholarships, acknowledging their effort and results achieved as the best in meeting the contest criteria.


Lukrecijus Tubys
Winner in the human rights category. Worked together with a team: Juta Liutkevičiutė, Marius Jokubaitis.
Saulė Pinkevičiūtė
Won the competition in the field of human rights.
Liucija Zubrutė
The winner in the corruption category.
Tadas Širvinskas
Winner in the corruption category

The Commission

Rytas Staselis
Aleksandras Dobryninas
Šarūnas Černiauskas
Investigative journalist, founder of Investigative journalism centre "Siena"
Dovydas Pancerovas
Investigative journalist